Fort Worth, Texas,
11:41 AM

Cook Children’s Emergency Department Recognized for Exceptional and Innovative Performance by the Emergency Nurses Association

Cook Children’s Health Care System is among 33 hospitals in the world to receive the coveted Lantern Award from the Emergency Nurses Association (ENA). The group recognized Cook Children’s Emergency Department (ED) for demonstrating exceptional and innovative performance through leadership, practices, education, advocacy and research. The award is given to health care institutions both in the U.S. and internationally, and is a visible symbol of commitment to quality, safety and a healthy work environment.

“Despite dealing with the challenges of the COVID-19 pandemic, our emergency department leadership carved out time to showcase the preeminent and pioneering work their teams are doing each day,” said Rick W. Merrill, president and CEO of Cook Children’s. “This uniquely special award is a testament to this team’s daily commitment to excellence; and on behalf of our entire leadership team, we are extremely proud of this accomplishment.”

Some of the key initiatives that helped Cook Children’s win the Lantern Award include:

  • Implementation of a sepsis-screening process
  • Suicide-risk assessments for all ED patients over the age of 10
  • Enactment of a COVID-19 command center response team
  • Routine disaster drills, including participation in community exercises
  • Critical stress management training to help build resiliency for ED staff before and after stressful events
  • Improvements in the blood culture process

“We’re proud to have an emergency department staffed with nurses who go above and beyond every day to do the very best for the children and families in our care,” said Cheryl Petersen, Vice President and Chief Nursing Officer at Cook Children’s. “This is the first time we have received this award, but I can truly say our staff has a long history of exceptional performance. We’re simply excited to know leaders outside of Cook Children’s are taking notice of their great work.”

The ENA Lantern Award is named in honor of Florence Nightingale, who worked to improve and change nursing in the 19th century. A list of all 33 Lantern Award winners can be viewed here.

Comments (0)
Thank you for your message. It will be posted after approval.